• Please ensure that you download and read the Rules for Entry before completing your submission.
  • There are changes to the rules each year, so it is important that you review this document even if you are a repeat entrant.

2019 Accreditation Requirements


The Australian Tourism Industry Council (ATIC) will introduce a new, integrated framework for Australia’s business quality programs, which will incorporate existing programs such as; the Australian Tourism Accreditation Program, Star Ratings program, and the Australian Tourism Awards. This new framework will be known as the Quality Tourism Framework (QTF). 

Under the new QTF, there will be changes to requirements for the 2019 Queensland Tourism Awards (QTA), which all entrants must meet in order to be eligible for the national award categories. The QTF, will provide greater efficiencies for those who are engaged across multiple programs and provide an assurance of minimum standards being met by all.  

Important 2019 QTA Accreditation Change

1.  To be eligible for any of the accommodation categories (17 – 23), all entrants are required to meet a specific Star Rating (dependent on their category), through the completion of a pre-assessment module in your submission portal, which will calculate a proposed rating.  Those who are already Star Rated will not be required to complete a pre-assessment as the rating has already been confirmed. Note: annual Star Rating renewals are due July 2019.  


Star Rating required to enter



4 or 4.5 







Caravan Park 




2. All entrants in non-accommodation categories are required to complete Level 1 of the QTF. This pre-assessment will be included within the submission portal. Those who are already accredited through QTF (formally known at ATAP) will not be required to complete a pre-assessment.  Note: annual QTF (formally ATAP) renewals are due July 2019

3. There is no additional cost for 2019 QTA entrants to complete the required pre-assessments. Additional costs will only apply if an entrant wishes to finalise the accreditation process through the QTF.

4. Queensland entrants were previously required to hold accreditation through one of 17 recognised programs. In order to ensure consistency across the States under the QTF, this requirement no longer applies. 

Although this requirement no longer applies, QTIC highly recommends that all entrants maintain their current accreditation, as it is a valuable business asset and will strengthen QTA submissions.

Under the new QTF, QTIC will continue to work with our accreditation partners to uphold tourism excellence and deliver quality standards across the industry.  



For further information please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or call 07 3236 1445.

Connect with QTA

Awards updates, news and photos can be found on social media via:

facebook-large  TwitterIcon  insta12  LinkedIn-InBug-2C 1youtube-logo 1  

Media releases and other news updates can be found on the Queensland Tourism Industry Council (QTIC) website. QTIC is the organisation responsible for hosting and producing the annual Queensland Tourism Awards.



QTA QAL logo 


Queensland Tourism Industry Council Logo


Follow news and updates via Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and LinkedIn, or watch videos on YouTube.

View photos from the 2018 Awards Ceremony

View a full list of 2018 Award Winners

 Visit the Queensland Tourism Awards on Facebook   Follow the Queensland Tourism Awards on Twitter  insta12

LinkedIn-InBug-2C 1 youtube-logo 1